KHRT Sports – 04/09/24


MINOT, ND – Monday scores:
High School Baseball
Class A
Watford City def. Heart River (Class B), 11-7
Watford City def. Heart River (Class B), 14-4
Mandan def. Bismarck St. Mary’s, 12-6
Mandan def. Bismarck St. Mary’s, 7-5

High School Girls Softball
Class A
Minot High def. Williston, 12-4
Minot High def. WIlliston, 22-3
Minot North def. Turtle Mountain, 16-3
Minot North def. Turtle Mountain, 31-6
Class B
Bottineau def. Northern Lights, 23-3

High School Girls Soccer
Mandan def. Dickinson, 13-0
BISMARCK, ND (WDA) – Minot High earned seven first place votes and picked up 78 total points to take the top spot in the WDA girls’ tennis coaches’ poll. The Majettes are the defending state and WDA champion. Bismarck Legacy was second in voting with 71 points and two first place votes. Bismarck Century was third with 59 points while Dickinson was fourth with 56 and Mandan was fifth with 55. The Braves also earned one first place vote. Rounding out the poll was Bismarck High in sixth; Bismarck St. Mary’s in seventh; Williston in eighth; WDA newcomer Minot North in ninth and Jamestown in 10th. The annual poll was conducted by Matt Mullally, WDA SID. Teams received nine points for a first place vote; 8 for second place; 7 for third; 6 for fourth; 5 for fifth; 4 fourth sixth; 3 for seventh; 2 for eighth; and 1 for ninth. Coaches did not vote for their own team. The 47th year of WDA-sponsored play begins later this week. Several teams will play non-conference 3-2 duals on Friday, April 12 and take part in a Minot Tournament on Saturday, April 13. Mandan senior Sofia Felderman is also the defending state and region singles champion. The West Region Tournament will be hosted by Minot Public Schools, May 23-25. The state tournament is in Grand Forks, May 30-June 1.
MINOT – Rosters have been released for the Lions All-Star Basketball series. The this will have Class AA versus Class A & B in boys and girls games. The rosters are composed of seniors from this past season. Games will be played July 15 at Bismarck High and July 16 at Fargo South.
Several area athletes will participate. The Class AA boys team includes Logan Conklin of Minot High, Isiah St. Romain of Williston, Isaiah Schafer of Bismarck Century, Lucas Kupfer of Bismarck Legacy, and Damon Glasser of Dickinson. The Class A/B boys team includes Tyson Wick of Hazen, Atticus Wilkinson of Shiloh Christian, Kai Thomas of Williston Trinity Christian, Javin Friesz of Flasher, Bohden Duffield and Bishop Duffield of Bowman County. Alternates include Braxton Iglehart of Garrison, Gunner Zerr of Turtle Mountain, Braylon Fisher of Des Lacs-Burlington, and Jack Zimmer of Kenmare-Bowbells. The Class A/B team will be coached by Anthony Lee of Westhope-Newburg.
The Class AA girls team includes Presley Bennett of Minot High, Paige Breuer and Jersey Berg of Bismarck High, Eden Fridley of Bismarck Century, and Jayden Wiest along with Hailey Markel of Mandan. The Class A/B girls roster includes Kylie Simpson of Bottineau, Jessica Mogen of Watford City, Dedra Wood of Shiloh Christian, and Jaci Fischer of Bowman County. Alternates include Kaydee Boyce of Nedrose and Mya Neshem of Berthold.
UNION LAKE, Mich. (MSU) –The ACHA announced Monday that Minot State men’s hockey head coach Wyatt Waselenchuk has been named the 2024 Men’s Division I Coach of the Year as selected by ACHA Men’s Division I head coaches. Waselenchuk was chosen from a group of finalists that included Gary Astalos of Adrian College, Carl Trosien of Purdue University Northwest, and Mike Rivera of University of Central Oklahoma after he led the Beavers to a 30-7-1 overall record this season and into the quarterfinals of the ACHA National Tournament. Waselenchuk is the second Minot State coach to win the award, joining two-time recipient and former Beaver head coach Wade Regier (2013 and 2017). The honor is the first for the current Beavers head coach who becomes the ninth former ACHA player to win the award. Waselenchuk also was named ACHA Division I Player of the Year after leading Minot State to the national title in 2012-13 as the Beavers starting goalie. Waselenchuk led the Beavers to the ACHA Men’s Division I National Championships for the 15th consecutive season and 20th overall this winter, and Minot State held the No. 1 ranking in the ACHA poll for 15 of the 18 rankings during the 2023-2024 season. Introduced as Minot State coach in the spring of 2021, Coach Waselenchuk has a 96-13-1 career record in three seasons as the Beavers head coach and guided the team to the program’s third ACHA National Championship following the 2022-23 season. Waselenchuk has been part of all three of the team’s ACHA National Championships: As goalie for the 2012-13 National Championship team, as assistant coach for the 2018-19 National Championship team, and as head coach for the 2022-23 National Championship team. The Beavers will join the Midwest College Hockey (MCH) conference beginning with the 2024-25 season.
MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Shohei Ohtani had two doubles and a home run — his third in five games — to tie his career high with three extra-base hits and power the Los Angeles Dodgers past the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Monday night. James Outman hit the go-ahead homer in the seventh inning and Freddie Freeman and Will Smith drove in runs and Evan Phillips picked up his fourth save to fuel another smooth victory for Dodgers newcomer James Paxton (2-0), who flashed a wide smile when asked afterward about Ohtani’s impact. Manny Margot hit a two-run homer off his former team to give the Twins a third-inning lead, but the loaded Dodgers lineup was too much for their depleted bullpen after starter Bailey Ober deftly worked to depart with one run allowed in five innings.The Twins have lost three straight games with a total of 12 hits.
Dodgers RHP Tyler Glasnow (2-0, 3.18 ERA) starts tonight, as RHP Louie Varland (0-1, 6.75 ERA) takes the mound for the Twins. Varland missed the opportunity to take the same field with his brother when the Dodgers sent RHP Gus Varland down to Triple-A before the game. The Varlands grew up a few miles away in North St. Paul.

Leave a Reply