K-Heart Sports – 06/23/22

K-HEART SPORTS – 06/23/22 – 0700
MINOT, ND – The North Dakota Associated Press Sportscaster and Sportswriters Association has named their year end award winners in college sports.
Male Team: BSC baseball
The Mystics won the Mon-Dak Conference regular season title, claimed the Region XIII tournament championship and advanced to the North Plains District finals, finishing one step short of a trip to the NJCAA World Series. The Mystics ranked among the national leaders in several categories, individually and as a team – including leading the nation in batting average (.407), slugging percentage (.664) and on-base percentage (.502).
Other finalists: North Dakota State football; Jamestown volleyball.
Male Athlete: Danny Kittner, U-Mary football
Kittner, a junior from Gilbert, Ariz., put together an All-America season at wide receiver for U-Mary. Kittner was named to the AFCA All-America first team, the Northern Sun Offensive Player of the Year and the NCAA Division II Super Region 4 offensive player of the year. He led the nation in receptions (128), yards (1,723), all-purpose yards (2,251) and was second in touchdowns (18), where he finished second to teammate Luke Little. Kittner set new NSIC records for catches and yards in a single season and set a new mark with 19 receptions in a single game.
Other finalists: Cordell Volson of North Dakota State football; Mason Walters of Jamestown basketball.
Male Coach: Michael Keeran, BSC baseball
Keeran guided Bismarck State College to a 37-8 record. The Mystics were regular-season conference champs and won the Region XIII postseason title, advancing to the best-of-three North Plains District finals series before falling to Kirkwood (Iowa). BSC led the nation in batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. Tate Leapaldt was fourth in the nation in batting average (.487) and three others ranked among the leaders. Nash Cromwell was fourth in the country with 74 RBIs, while Logan Grant was fifth with 73.
Other finalists: Matt Entz of North Dakota State football; Tyler Oakes of North Dakota State baseball.
Female Team: Jamestown volleyball
The Jimmies lost only once all year in advancing to the NAIA Final Four. Jamestown finished 35-1, falling to Park University in the national semifinals. It was the third consecutive trip to the Final Four for the Jimmies, who finished as national runners-up in 2019 and played in the semifinals the past two seasons. Jamestown went 18-0 in the Great Plains Athletic Conference, winning 30 of 34 matches in sweeps.
Other finalists: Dakota College-Bottineau basketball; NDSCS basketball.
Female Athlete: D’Andra Morris, U-Mary track
Morris, a senior from Kingston, Jamaica, won a national championship in the NCAA Division II outdoor track meet in the triple jump (42-9 3/4). She was the first Marauder to win an outdoor national title in the long jump and was the NSIC Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year. Morris won the triple jump at the Drake Relays in a school-record 13.17 meters and set an NSIC indoor mark in the triple jump. She was an All-American in the long jump during the indoor season and was named the NSIC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year.
Other finalists: Ivanie Tensaie of NDSCS basketball; Kacie Borowicz of North Dakota basketball.
Female Coach: Adam Jacobson, NDSCS basketball
Jacobson led the Wildcats to a 30-3 record, a Mon-Dak Conference title, a Region XIII title and the North Central District championship in his second season with NDSCS. He had two players move on to Division I schools – Ambah Kowcun to Wichita State and Ivane Tensaie to Penn State. The former University of Mary assistant coach left Wahpeton in May to become head coach at NCAA Division II Western Colorado.
Other finalists: Jon Hegele of Jamestown volleyball; Kyle Kuether of Bismarck State College volleyball.
BISMARCK, ND – Jeff Schumacher of Bismarck High has won the NHSACA National Coach of the Year in the sport of wrestling. The long-time co-head coach led Bismarck High to another state championship, its 40th overall, eighth in the last nine years, and seventh of the last eight team dual championships. The award was announced Wednesday at the national coaches convention in Des Moines, Iowa.
MINOT, ND – The streak is up to 18 in a row for the Souris Valley Sabre Dogs. The defending Expedition League champs shutout the Pierre Trappers 10-0 last night at Corbett Field. The Dogs improve to 22-1 on the season. The Dogs and Trappers play again tonight in Pierre.
MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Oscar Gonzalez tied the game with a two-run single and scored on Owen Miller’s go-ahead sacrifice fly as the Cleveland Guardians rallied for four runs in the ninth inning to stun the Minnesota Twins 11-10 on Wednesday night. Gonzalez homered earlier and finished with four RBIs for the surging Guardians, who have won the first two in a three-game series to take a one-game lead over Minnesota atop the AL Central. The teams also meet five times in four days next week in Cleveland. Carlos Correa hit two home runs for the Twins, who have lost four of five and are 8-11 in June. Max Kepler and Gio Urshela also went deep for Minnesota. Sam Hentges (1-0) tossed a scoreless eighth and Emmanuel Clase earned his 17th save with a 1-2-3 ninth for Cleveland, which has won 11 of 13 and is 17-4 since May 30. The young Guardians also won their seventh straight series.
TAMPA, Fla. (AP) — The Colorado Avalanche are on the brink of their first Stanley Cup title since 2001, thanks to Nazem Kadri’s overtime goal. Even if the two-time defending champion Tampa Bay Lightning don’t believe it should have counted. Kadri scored at 12:02 of the extra period to give Colorado a 3-2 victory in Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Final and move the Avalanche within a win of their first championship in over two decades. Without specifically saying Tampa Bay felt Colorado had too many men on the ice for the winning goal, Lightning coach Jon Cooper suggested the goal should not have been allowed. The NHL released a statement saying the penalty is a judgement call that can be made by the on-ice officials. Each of the four officials said they did not see a too many men on the ice situation on the winning play. The call is not subject to video review. Back in the lineup after being sidelined since June 4 with a thumb injury, Kadri skated in on Andrei Vasilevskiy and slipped a shot under the goaltender’s right arm to give Colorado a 3-1 series lead. Game 5 is Friday night in Denver, where Colorado won the first two games of the series and are 7-2 this postseason.
NEW YORK (AP) — Paolo Banchero thinks he should be No. 1. Jabari Smith Jr. is sure he won’t go beyond No. 2. Chet Holmgren would be happy with either. The freshmen have been considered the top three players available, in some order, in the NBA draft. The Orlando Magic will determine who goes first tonight, with the Oklahoma City Thunder and Houston Rockets slated to follow. Smith, who led Auburn to its first No. 1 ranking, gives a slight edge to himself but is impressed by all three. Assuming they are gone in the top three spots, that’s when the mystery could start up. The Sacramento Kings hold the No. 4 pick, a spot that produced last season’s Rookie of the Year in Toronto forward Scottie Barnes. They could have players such as Purdue guard Jaden Ivey and Iowa forward Keegan Murray to choose among, though it’s unclear which way the Kings might be leaning — or even if they will make the pick at all instead of trading it.

Leave a Reply