K-Heart Sports – 06/22/23


MINOT, ND – The North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association have named their year end award winners in college sports.

COLLEGE MALE TEAM – University of Jamestown basketball

The Jimmies finished 27-7 overall and made the NAIA Round of 16  at the national tournament before losing to Indiana Institute of Technology in Kansas City. They were GPAC regular-season champs and runner-up in the GPAC Tournament. The Jimmies tallied the 4th most wins all-time in program history in a season and finished #11 in the NAIA Coaches Poll.

Other finalists: Mayville State basketball / North Dakota State College of Science football

COLLEGE MALE ATHLETE – Cody Mauch, NDSU football

The Hankinson, ND native was drafted by the Tampa Bay Bucs in the 2nd round, 48th overall. Mauch started all 15 games at left tackle for a 12-3 Bison team that advanced to the NCAA Division I FCS championship game for the 10th time in 12 years.  Mauch recieved several honors including All-America first team by AP, Stats Perform, AFCA, FCS Athletic Directors Association, HERO Sports, Athlon Sports and Phil Steele

Other finalists: Mason Walters, University of Jamestown basketball / Grant Nelson, NDSU basketball

COLLEGE MALE COACH – Brandon McGruder, Mayville State University basketball

McGruder was promoted to interm head coach midway through the season. With McGruder at the helm during the 2022-23 season, the Mayville State men’s basketball team became the North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) conference champions with a record of 12-2 in the conference and a 25-6 win-loss record overall. The Comets won the conference tournament, which gave them an automatic bid into national tournament play. McGruder was named the NSAA Coach of the Year for 2022-23.

Other finalists: Jamison Dietrich, Bismarck State track & field / Eric Issendorf, North Dakota State College of Science football

COLLEGE FEMALE TEAM – University of Jamestown volleyball

The second-ranked Jimmies capped off a season for the ages, defeating No. 4 Corban (Ore.) in five sets to win the 2022 NAIA Women’s Volleyball National Championship. Founded in 1883, the University of Jamestown began sponsoring intercollegiate athletics not long after the turn of the century. In the 120-plus years that followed Jimmie teams had amassed numerous conference, postseason, and regional championships, but never a national title.

Other finalists: North Dakota State College of Science softball / Bismarck State volleyball

COLLEGE FEMALE ATHLETE – Kaitlyn McColly, Dickinson State track & field

The sophomore became the first athlete in Dickinson State history to bring home a national championship in the Women’s Heptathlon after she won the event at the NAIA National Outdoor Championships in Marion, Ind. She won the title with 4,922 points which was 92 point more than 2nd place. Of the 8 events, McColly was top 8 in 7 of them. She was 1st in the 100-hurdles, 3rd in Long Jump & 800, 6th in High Jump, 7th in 200 and 8th in Javelin. 13th in Shot Put. McColly was named the Midwest Region Women’s Field Athlete of the Year by the US Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Other finalists: Kalli Hegerle, University of Jamestown volleyball / Anna Holen, University of Jamestown volleyball

COLLEGE FEMALE COACH – Jon Hegerly, University of Jamestown volleyball

In his 14th year at the helm of the Jimmie volleyball program, Hegerly led them to their first NAIA National championship. In 2022, in what was to be a “rebuilding year,” the Jimmies exceeded all expectations advancing to their 4th straight NAIA Semifinal en route to the programs first ever NAIA National Title. Hegerly has compiled an impressive 372-116 (.776) record as head of the Jimmies.

Other finalists: Mike Oehlke, North Dakota State College of Science softall / Kyle Kuether, Bismarck State volleyball


MINOT, ND – Scores from Wednesday:

American Legion Baseball
Class B

Velva def Harvey, 14-2

Velva def. Havey, 8-7



MINOT, ND – The Minot Hot Tots completed their four-game home series against Willmar last night at Corbett Field. The Tots led 3-2 entering the 9th inning, but the Stingers scored twice in the 9th and go on to win 4-3. The Stinger win the series and improve to 18-4 on the year. Minot drops to 5-17. The Hot Tots rivalry with Bismarck kicks in starting today as they teams play the first of four games. Games against the Larks tonight and Monday are in Bismarck, while games on Friday and Tuesday are here in Minot. 



MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Kyle Farmer hit a game-winning single that scored automatic runner Willi Castro from third base and the Minnesota Twins beat the Boston Red Sox 5-4 in 10 innings on Wednesday night. Farmer’s line drive fell in front of Jarren Duran, who was playing shallow in center field, scoring Castro and snapping Minnesota’s three-game losing streak. Michael A Taylor dropped a sacrifice bunt that moved Castro to third base, setting up the potential winning run. Max Kepler homered for the second straight game for the Twins and added an RBI single. Minnesota had lost five of its last six games. Reliever Jovani Moran (1-2) earned the win for the Twins, stranding Boston’s automatic runner at second. He intentionally walked pinch hitter Adam Duvall, and struck out two in the inning. Kaleb Ort (1-1) took the loss for the Red Sox, who had their six-game winning streak halted.

RHP Joe Ryan (7-4, 3.30 ERA) starts today for Minnesota in the finale of the four-game series. The Red Sox are expected to recall LHP Brandon Walter from Triple-A, but Cora said after the game that Justin Garza will serve as an opener. The 26-year old Walter would be making his Major League debut.

Leave a Reply