K-Heart Sports – 06/22/22

K-HEART SPORTS – 06/22/22 – 0700
MINOT, ND – Professional golfer Tom Hoge, the University of Mary hockey team and its goalie, and Bismarck Bobcats coach Layne Sedevie have received year-end awards from the North Dakota Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. Hoge, who earned his first PGA Tour victory earlier this year, won the NDAPSSA’s Dakota Award for the second time in three years. The University of Mary hockey team was named the Non-School Team of the Year for the second consecutive year, while its goalie, Kyle Hayden, was named Non-School Athlete of the Year. Sedevie was named Non-School Coach of the Year.
Dakota Award: Tom Hoge
Hoge, a Fargo South High grad, won the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am in Pebble Beach, Calif., in February. Hoge, who won with a score of 19-under par, collected $1,566,000 for the victory. Hoge previously had two runner-up finishes on the PGA Tour. Hoge is enjoying his best season as a pro. He currently sits 14th in the FedEx Cup Standings with $3,955,721 in winnings and is ranked 41st in the world.

Other Dakota Award finalists: University of Wisconsin and Team USA hockey player Britta Curl; Arizona women’s basketball player Lauren Ware, both of Bismarck.

Non-School Team: University of Mary hockey
Back-to-back ACHA Division II national championships has earned the University of Mary the NDAPSSA’s non-school team of the year for the second year in a row. The Marauders capped off a 38-5-2 season with a 3-2 triple-overtime victory over Florida Gulf Coast in the title game played in Maryland Heights, Mo. The Marauders became the fifth team to win consecutive titles. Florida Gulf Coast won back-to-back titles in 2018 and 2019. The Marauders, coached by Dan Huntley, finished the 2021-22 season on a 20-game winning streak.
Other Non-School Team finalists: Fargo Post 400 Stars American Legion baseball team; Souris Valley Sabre Dogs in Minot.
Non-School Athlete: Kyle Hayden
Hayden went 25-3-2 in goal for the Marauders, including winning all four games in the national tournament. Named the AHCA Division 2 West Regional Player of the Year, the junior from Albertville, Minn., posted a 1.57 goals against average, .941 save percentage with six shutouts for the Marauders. In the national championship game, Hayden made 58 saves and was named the tournament’s most outstanding player.
Other Non-School Athlete finalists: Kobe Senn – Fargo Post 400 American Legion baseball team.
Non-School Coach: Layne Sedevie
With a largely new team in the North American Hockey League, Sedevie helped rally the Bismarck Bobcats out of a 9-18-2 hole at the midway point of the season to make the NAHL playoffs. Sedevie, also the team’s general manager, acquired iron-man goalie Oskar Spinnars Nordin, who played the last 33 games of the season for the Bobcats. Bismarck finished the season with a record of 29-27-4 and qualified for the NAHL playoffs in Sedevie’s 12th season running his hometown team.
Other Non-School Coach finalists: Dan Huntley – University of Mary hockey team; Alex Miklos – Souris Valley Sabre Dogs.
MINOT, ND – Tuesday’s scores
American Legion Baseball
Class AA
Jamestown Eagles 2, Mandan Chiefs 1
Jamestown Eagles 4, Mandan Chiefs 3
Class A
Mandan A’s 3, Bismarck Capitals 2
Bismarck Capitals 5, Mandan A’s 4
Class B
Surrey 10, Garrison 0
Expedition League Baseball
Souris Valley Sabre Dogs 12, Pierre Trappers 2   (17th straight win for Dogs)
MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Andrés Giménez had an RBI single in the 11th inning and the Cleveland Guardians beat Minnesota 6-5 Tuesday night to move percentage points ahead of the Twins atop the AL Central Division. Bryan Shaw, Sam Hentges and Trevor Stephan each tossed a scoreless inning of relief before Emmanuel Clase earned his 16th save in 18 chances for the Guardians, whose 35-28 (.556) record is narrowly ahead of Minnesota’s 38-31 (.551). The teams will square off seven more times by the end of June. The Guardians improved to 10-2 in their last 12 games and 16-4 since May 30. Luis Arraez hit a three-run home run in the seventh to give Minnesota a 5-3 lead, but Franmil Reyes, in his first game in nearly a month, lined a two-run homer off Emilio Pagán with two outs in the eighth to tie it. The scheduled starters for today’s second game of this three-game set are RHP Triston McKenzie (4-5, 2.96) for Cleveland and RHP Sonny Gray (3-1, 2.09) for Minnesota.
PHOENIX (AP) — Kayla McBride scored 18 points, Moriah Jefferson had 12 points and nine assists and the Minnesota Lynx beat the Phoenix Mercury 84-71 on Tuesday night to snap a five-game losing streak. Minnesota, which won in Phoenix for the 10th straight time, went on a 20-8 run, capped by a corner 3-pointer by Bridget Carleton, to take a 70-61 lead. Natalie Achonwa also scored 12 points, 10 coming in the first half, for Minnesota (4-13). Jessica Shepard grabbed 13 rebounds. Skylar Diggins-Smith scored 25 points for Phoenix (7-10). Diana Taurasi added 15 points and Shey Peddy had 12. Tina Charles grabbed seven rebounds to eclipse 3,500 in her career. Charles is the only player in WNBA history with at least 6,850 points and 3,500 rebounds.

Leave a Reply