K-Heart Sports – 06/20/23


MINOT, ND – The North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association has named their Special Achievement Award winners. It is the Association’s highest honor. Nominees must receive at least 75% approval in voting by NSAPSSA members.
Larry Sandy, Velva football
Sandy retired after 36 seasons as a head football coach, 33 of them in Velva. With the Aggies, he compiled a record of 282-71 for a .799 winning percentage. During the Dakota Bowl era, no coach has won more state titles — the Aggies have the 10 state championships, the last a 22-20 comeback win over Central Cass last season, which completed an undefeated season with a 13-0 record. Sandy’s teams have finished undefeated six times — 2001, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010 and 2022. They won eight titles in a span of 11 seasons from 2000-2010, winning back to back titles in 2000 and 2001 and four consecutive from 2003-2006. Back-to-back titles came again in 2009 and 2010. Sandy started his coaching career in South Dakota for two years before moving to Steele-Dawson in 1989 and Velva in 1990. His overall career record was 296-83.
Dan Carr, Linton basketball
Carr retired after 41 seasons in Linton, finishing his career as the state’s all-time winningest high school basketball coach. In 44 seasons of coaching, Carr piled up 801 victories and led the Lions to three state Class B championships. He was inducted into the North Dakota High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2015 and the North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame in 2016. Carr’s teams won 11 region championships. In 1984 and 1985, Linton won back-to-back state titles, beating Newburg both times, and 81-62 win over the Eagles in 1984 and a 72-70 decision the following season. Linton defeated Dakota Prairie 82-63 in the 2009 state championship game. In 1997, Linton lost 72-61 to Mayville-Portland in the final.
Dan Smrekar, Bismarck St. Mary’s football
Smrekar was synonymous with Saints football over the years. He retired after 49 years at St. Mary’s. After serving as an assistant football coach for four seasons, Smrekar was the head coach for 45 years. He coached the Saints to 295 wins and eight state championships and was named coach of the year six times. He was inducted into the NDHSAA Hall of Fame in 2010. Smrekar also served as St. Mary’s athletic director for 35 years and the football field at the school was named after him. St. Mary’s won Class A state titles in 1988, 1991 and 1994. From 2013-2020, the Saints won five Class AA championships, including four in five seasons (2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017). They won the title again in 2020. The Saints also finished as state runners-up in 2018 and 2021.
MINOT, ND – The Minot Vistas swept West Fargo on Monday.
American Legion Baseball
Class AA
Minot Vistas def. West Fargo, 5-4
Minot Vistas def. West Fargo, 6-2
Mandan Chiefs def. Williston Keybirds, 1-0 (8)
Williston Keybirds def. Mandan Chiefs, 2-1
MINOT, ND – The Minot Hot Tots are back home and began a four-game series against Willmar Stingers last night. It didn’t look good for the Hot Tots who trailed 7-0 as they came to bat in the seventh inning. Minot would score nine runs in the seventh and took the lead. The Stingers responded by tying it at 9-9 in the eighth, but the Tots pushed a run across in the bottom of the inning and held on to defeat the team with the best record in the Northwoods League 10-9. Minot improves their record to 5-14, while Willmar drops to 15-4. The teams play a split double-header today with game one at 9:05 am and game two at 6:35 pm. Duncan Lutz (0-1, 12.15 ERA) is schedule to start the morning game for Minot against Nate Zyzda (0-1, 9.90 ERA) for the Stingers.
BISMARCK, ND – Four runners from Bismarck Legacy High School won two national championships over the weekend at the Nike Outdoor Nationals in Eugene, Oregon. Nathan Mathern, Talen Farland, Reece Snow, and Dylan McGlothlin won the 4×200-meter relay on Friday and followed it up with a win in the 4×100-meter relay on Sunday in a time of 41.42 seconds. Four students from Bismarck High School also ran in the 4x100m relay at the Nike Outdoor Nationals. Deegan Staudinger, Jeran McNichols, Drew Henriksen and Hudson Schroeder recorded a time of 42.57 seconds, taking fourth place in the event.
MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Alex Verdugo tripled and drove in four runs, James Paxton pitched 6 1/3 effective innings and the Boston Red Sox beat the Minnesota Twins 9-3 on Monday night for their fifth straight win. Triston Casas hit a two-run homer and Jarren Duran added three doubles for Boston, which has outscored opponents 40-14 during the win streak. Paxton (3-1) gave up three hits and a walk while striking out seven. Over his past four games, the tall left-hander has given up six earned runs in 24 1/3 innings with 32 strikeouts. Pablo López (3-4) allowed five runs — four earned — in 5 2/3 innings for Minnesota, which has lost four of five but remains two games ahead of Cleveland in the American League Central despite falling under .500 (36-37) for the second time this season. Twins catcher Christian Vázquez hit a three-run homer against his former team, his first in 48 games in his first season in Minnesota.
RHP Bailey Ober (4-3, 2.65 ERA) is scheduled to start today for Minnesota, with Boston countering with RHP Kutter Crawford (1-3, 4.20).

Leave a Reply