K-Heart Sports – 04/09/22

K-HEART SPORTS – 04/09/22 – 0700
MINOT, ND – The Minot High girls soccer team won the state title last season, and they began this season in the same way with a win.
High School Girls Soccer
Minot 5, Mandan 1
Bismarck High 3, Jamestown 0
Bismarck Legacy 7, Williston 1
Bismarck Century 3, Bismarck St. Mary’s 0
High School Baseball
Class A
Minot 11, Bismarck Century 9
Minot 11, Bismarck Century 8 (suspended after 5 innings due to darkness and will be completed at a later date)
Jamestown 10, Bismarck High 3
Jamestown 13, Bismarck High 3
Class B
Des Lacs-Burlington 7, Bishop Ryan 3
Des Lacs-Burlington 15, Bishop Ryan 4
Shiloh Chrisitian Invitational – Bismarck
Kindred-Richland 12, Velva-Drake-Anamoose 2
Thompson 16, Velva-Drake-Anamoose 0
Thompson 2, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion 1
LaMoure-Litchville-Marion 2, Shiloh Christian 0
Kindred-Richland 7, Park River Area 2
High School Girls Softball
Class A
Minot 7, Bismarck Century 3
Minot 11, Bismarck Century 10
Jamestown 15, Williston 0
Jamestown 12, Williston 2
Bismarck High 11, Bismarck Legacy 1
Bismarck High 18, Bismarck Legacy 7
Class B
Rugby 39, Bishop Ryan 2
Rugby 18, Bishop Ryan 17
Bottineau 21, Ray 10
Velva-Drake-Anamoose 26, Washburn-Center-Stanton 0
Harvey-Wells County 4, Central McLean 2
Heart River 8, Wilton-Wing 2
BOSTON (UND) – UND Sophomore defenseman Jake Sanderson has been named to the AHCA/CCM All-America West First Team on Friday night, as announced by the American Hockey Coaches Association on NHL Network. This marks the third straight season that North Dakota has had at least one player named to the first team, with Sanderson joining Shane Pinto (2020-21) and Jordan Kawaguchi (2019-20). It is the first time since 1997-00 that the program has gone at least three consecutive years with a first team honoree. Despite playing only 10 league games, Sanderson was dynamic along the blue line to be named to the All-NCHC Second Team for the first time in his career. He tallied 12 points on four goals and eight assists while finishing with a plus-4 rating.
OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (UND) – North Dakota goaltender Zach Driscoll has been selected as the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award® winner in NCAA® Division I men’s ice hockey. He becomes the second North Dakota student-athlete to win the award in school history, joining Jordan Kawaguchi last season. The award, chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I men’s hockey coaches, national hockey media, and fans, is given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I men’s hockey.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior or graduate student and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: classroom, community, character, and competition.
MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Reigning AL Cy Young Award winner Robbie Ray (1-0) surrendered just three hits, walked four and struck out five, and Mitch Haniger homered as Seattle opened with a 2-1 win over the Minnesota Twins. Joe Ryan walked four, gave up two hits and two runs in four innings while becoming the first Twins rookie to start on opening day since Tom Hall in 1969. RHP Logan Gilbert (6-4, 4.68 ERA in 2021) will start this afternoon for Seattle. Minnesota counters with its big offseason pitching addition Sonny Gray (7-9, 4.19 ERA in 2021).
ST. LOUIS (AP) — Robert Thomas scored at 1:27 of overtime to give the St. Louis Blues a 4-3 victory over the Minnesota Wild on Friday night. The Blues overcame a 3-1 deficit to pull even with Minnesota in the Central Division in the battle for home ice in the first round of the playoffs. Brayden Schenn, Pavel Buchnevich and Justin Faulk also scored for St. Louis, and Ville Husso made 35 saves. Kirill Kaprizov scored his 41st goal for Minnesota to move within a goal of tying the Wild season record held by Marian Gaborik (2007-08) and Eric Staal (2017-18). Kevin Fiala and Jacob Middleton also scored for Minnesota. Cam Talbot made 24 saves for the Wild.

Leave a Reply