Instant Feedback
Listen Here. K-Heart 106.9 FM - Contemporary Christian
Listen Here. KHRT 1320 AM - Southern Gospel
E-Mail Sign Up
The Latest


Verse of the Day

Bible Reading
 K-Heart Sports


The man who led North Dakota State through its successful transition to NCAA Division I athletics is leaving the school....

     FARGO, N.D. (AP) - The man who led North Dakota State through its successful transition to NCAA Division I athletics is leaving the school.   Bison athletic director Gene Taylor has been named deputy director for athletics at Iowa.
     The 56-year-old Taylor was been with NDSU for 13 years. Under his tenure, the Bison won three Football Championship Subdivision titles and twice advanced to the NCAA men's basketball tournament.  Taylor came to Fargo after serving as an administrative assistant for business at Navy.
     Taylor is the third key member of the athletics department to depart this year. Football coach Craig Bohl got a job at Wyoming and men's basketball coach Saul Phillips left for Ohio University.
     The deputy director of athletics position is new to Iowa. Taylor will oversee the department's day-to-day operations.


    FARGO, ND - The 2014 North Dakota Optimist Clubs All-Star Volleyball series begins tonight with a match at West Fargo High School. The second and final match will be played Tuesday night at Bismarck Century High School.


West All-Stars

Shay Bense, 5-8, Setter, Century
Heidi Clausen, 5-8, middle hitter, Wilton-Wing
Paige Dolan, 5-7, outside hitter, Ray
Addie Eamon, 6-0, MH, Jamestown
Hannah Gillund, 5-11, MH, Ray
Josie Hegerle, 5-10, S, Jamestown
Lakin Kessler, 5-6, S, Beulah
McKenzie Kiefer, 5-7, S, Bismarck
Katie Nelson, 5-7, OH, Kenmare
McKayla Orr, 5-4, libero, Jamestown
Chai Pappa, 5-10, MH, Stanley
Mary Roller, 5-10, OH, St. Mary's.

Sara Hegerle, Jamestown
Jessica Niemitalo, Stanley

East All-Stars

McKenna DeMoe, 5-6, S-L-OH, Thompson
Jessica Denholm, 5-6, S, Valley City
Faith Dooley, 6-3, MH, Central Cass
Brenna Downs, 5-3, S, Langdon
Shelby Gustafson, 6-0, OH, West Fargo
Jordan Johnson, 5-11, MH-OH, Northwood
Vanessa Johnson, 5-9, OH, Northern Cass
Katelyn Olson, 6-0, S, Fargo Davies
Kinsey Papachek, 5-8, OH, Davies
Kelsie Schmiess, 5-6, S, Fargo North
Courtney Suppa, 5-9, OH, West Fargo
Madison Wendel, 6-0, MH, Carrington

Curtis Johnson, Fargo Shanley
Laurie Good, LaMoure


    DICKINSON, ND - The roster has been finalized and practice has begun for the 21st Annual Badlands Bowl.  The Badlands Bowl is the annual all-star football game between the top North Dakota and Montana high school football players. It will be played this Saturday, June 21st, 6pm Mountain (5pm Central) at the Henry Biesiot Activities Center in Dickinson.

    Local players on the North Dakota squad include:

Tanner Volson - Drake-Anamoose
Austin Cieslak - Hazen
Hunter Fears - Hazen
Ben Love - Minot
Jacob Holmen - Minot
Kolton Larson - Minot
Thomas Kinchen - Minot
Kimani Benjamin - Minot
Levi Hoiby - Stanley-Powers Lake
Luke Bacon - TGU
Mitch Liebel - Watford City
Hunter Braaten - Westhope-Newburg-Glenburn
Tucker Wojahn - Velva

    North Dakota head coach is Barry Holmen of Minot.  Assistants include Chauncey Hendershot of Minot and Rick Philion of Hazen.

    Montana leads the overall series 15-5 and has won the last three years in a row.


     SAN DIEGO (AP) - Hall of Famer Tony Gwynn has died of cancer at 54.  Gwynn's sweet left-handed swing made him one of San Diego's best-loved athletes. He was nicknamed "Mr. Padre" during his 20-year major league career.
     He had been on a medical leave from his job as baseball coach at San Diego State, his alma mater, since late March. Agent John Boggs said Gwynn died Monday in suburban Poway.
     Gwynn had two operations for cancer in his right cheek between August 2010 and February 2012. The second surgery was complicated, with surgeons removing a facial nerve because it was intertwined with a tumor inside his right cheek. They grafted a nerve from Gwynn's neck to help him eventually regain facial movement.


   (Copyright 2014 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Visitor Comments (0)

Be the first to post a comment.
©2012 - 2014 KHRT Radio - All Rights Reserved.
Church Websites | Ministry Websites by NetMinistry.
NEW!! Take Online Donations